Transfiguration Cathedral of Our Savior (1713) was erected on the site of the royal Church of Constantine and Elena which was a part of the prince's palace ensemble. The cathedral, topped with five solid domes, was built by Yaroslavl's master craftsmen. An armature frieze encircles the cupola drums, windows are embellished with decorative casings. The entrance into the cathedral is of rare beauty. It is ornate with a white-stone portal lavishly adorned with a pattern.
The interior of the Transfiguration Cathedral of Our Savior is unique for its period. Its architects and builders have performed an intricate engineering job: a spacious quadrangular hall is spanned by a light close vault without supporting pillars with a 14-meter bay.